Home News & Events Shri Amarnath Yatra 2016 from 2nd July, 2016 & Registration from 29th February 2016

Shri Amarnath Yatra 2016 from 2nd July, 2016 & Registration from 29th February 2016

Jammu (J&K), January 21, 2016 - imageGovernor N.N. Vohra, who is the Chairman of Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board (SASB), presided over the 30th Board Meeting held today at New Delhi.

The duration and date of commencement of Shri Amarnath Yatra 2016 has been based on the approach adopted by the Sri Sri Ravi Shankar Committee which was set up to advise SASB regarding the duration and schedule of future Shri Amarnath Yatras.

Keeping in view the foremost concern of safety and security of the pilgrims, the committee decided that a 48 day Shri Amarnath Yatra 2016 would commence on 2nd July 2016, an auspicious day (Massik Shivratri) as per Hindu Calendar and conclude on Shravan Purnima (Raksha Bandan) on 18th August 2016.

Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board deliberated on the number of Yatris who would be allowed to register, date-wise and route-wise, for Shri Amarnath Yatra 2016. Considering the present carrying capacity of the tracks, available infrastructure in the Yatra area and all other relevant considerations the Board decided that, excluding Yatris who would travel by Heli-copters on either route to Panjtarni, 7500 pilgrims would be allowed to register for Yatra - 2016 on per day per route basis.

This would imply that Pahalgam-Chandanwari Track and Sonamarg-Baltal Track would each be allowed to have 7500 Registration for Yatris (Pilgrims) each day of Shri Amanath Yatra schedule of 48 days commencing on 2nd July 2016.

SASB was informed by the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of SASB, regarding rationalized distribution of Shri Amarnath Yatra Permits Forms for Advance Registration of pilgrims through 432 designated Bank branches of Punjab National Bank, Jammu and Kashmir Bank, and Yes Bank spread over 32 States and UTs (as compared to 430 Bank branches in 30 States/ UTs during last year Shri Amarnath Yatra). SASB aso directed CEO to take all required steps to commence advance Registration of Yatries (Pilgrims) from 29th February 2016 for both the Sonamarg-Baltal and Pahalgam-Chandanwari routes.

Reiterating that every Yatri must obtain a Compulsory Health Certificate (CHC) from the Doctors/ Hospitals nominated by respective State and UTs before applying to the nearest located designated Bank branch for getting a Shri Amarnath Yatra Permit. The Board advised the CEO to once again send out an appeal to all potential Yatris to consult their doctors before embarking on the pilgrimage even after having obtained a Health Certificate. The Board directed CEO to take timely steps for ensuring uninterrupted telecom connectivity in the Yatra area during Yatra 2016. Appreciating the services rendered by the various organizations (including Langars) during last year Yatra, the Board expected continued cooperation from them during Yatra 2016.

SASB would extensively publicize through the electronic and print media that the intending Yatris must furnish the prescribed Compulsory Health Certificate before seeking Advance Registration for the Yatra 2016.

The Board would also intensively publicize the Registration Procedure; requirement of Compulsory Health Certificate to obtain registration; details of Doctors / Institutes authorized to issue Compulsory Health Certificates; the Dos and Don’ts to be followed by the Yatris during the course of Yatra; and the Health Advisories to prevent pilgrims from getting afflicted with serious illness during the Yatra. The awareness campaign would be launched through the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. The CEO shall place all information relating to the Yatra on the Boards website www.shriamarnathjishrine.com.

You may also like to visit the following for more information on Shri Amarnath Yatra 2016:

Those present in the meeting included the Board Members, Dr. Kapila Vatsyayan, Dr. Devi Prasad Shetty, Shri Vijay Dhar, Ms. Sunita Narain, Pt. Bhajan Sopori, Shri D.C. Raina, and Dr. Chander Mouli Raina. H.H. Sri Sri Ravi Shankar participated in the discussions via tele-conferencing. Mr. P. K. Tripathi, Chief Executive Officer of the Board and Mr. Jitendra Kumar Singh, Additional Chief Executive Officer also attended the meeting.

Using this site means you accept its terms
Online since 1998